Mar 11, 2011

HACC Phi Theta Kappa chapter receives regional distinction

HARRISBURG – HACC’s Alpha Nu Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently received four awards during the Middle States Region convention of the honors organization for community college students.
Individual honors went to Michael Shoemaker of New Holland, who received the Hall of Honor Chapter Officer Award, and Wendy Brubaker, adviser and adjunct instructor of English at the HACC-Gettysburg Campus, received the Paragon Award for new advisers.
In addition, Shoemaker was elected 2011-12 president of the Middle States Region, which includes Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland and Delaware. He is vice president of programs for the HACC chapter and a student at the HACC-Lancaster Campus.
HACC’s Alpha Nu Omega chapter, which is made up of student members from all five HACC campuses, received the Five Star Chapter level of accomplishments, the highest “stars” that can be received; the Regional Program Achievement Award; the 2011 Communications Award, which includes $100; and the 2011 Chapter Award of Achievement, which includes $500.
Shoemaker and Brubaker will receive recognition for their awards during the chapter’s spring induction ceremony for 245 new members at 3 p.m. Sunday, March 20, in the Cooper Student Center on HACC-Harrisburg Campus.
In April, 11 chapter members and three advisers will participate in the international convention in Seattle. Susan Lyddy, current chapter president, is a candidate for president of the international organization, and the chapter is in competition for several awards. Lyddy is a student at HACC-Harrisburg Campus.
Thaddeus Sampson, dean of academic affairs for HACC’s communications, humanities, and the arts division, has served as the founding adviser of the HACC Alpha Nu Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa since the chapter was founded in 1988.
Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,250 chapters on college campuses in all 50 states and U.S. territories, Canada, Germany, Republic of Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, British Virgin Islands, and United Arab Emirates.